Gmail Calendar Documents Reader Web more »
Recently Visited Groups | Help | Sign in
Google Groups Home
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  3 messages - Collapse all  -  Translate all to Translated (View all originals)
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
MrGamma  
View profile  
 More options Aug 15 2007, 7:25 am
From: MrGamma
Date: Wed, 15 Aug 2007 04:25:04 -0700
Local: Wed, Aug 15 2007 7:25 am
Subject: http://www.google.net
I have a visitor who has been referred to a site by http://www.google.net

Is this a fake referral string or is this actually a legitimate Google
address?

I cannot actually find this page on the internet. I can find pages
hosted within that domain by I can't actually reach the root page of
that domain and that's what the referrer string is telling me where
the visit came from.

My limited knowledge of networking keeps me from understanding if
others might have access to this page while I wouldn't.

I also suspect it could just simply be a fake referral string.

Thanks for any insights or confirmations.


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Phil Payne  
View profile  
 More options Aug 15 2007, 7:27 am
From: Phil Payne
Date: Wed, 15 Aug 2007 04:27:18 -0700
Local: Wed, Aug 15 2007 7:27 am
Subject: Re: http://www.google.net

> I have a visitor who has been referred to a site by http://www.google.net
> Is this a fake referral string or is this actually a legitimate Google
> address?

Works from here - http://www.google.net gives a 302 redirect to .com
and that comes up as .co.uk - normal behaviour.

    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
cass-hacks  
View profile  
 More options Aug 15 2007, 8:25 am
From: cass-hacks
Date: Wed, 15 Aug 2007 05:25:27 -0700
Local: Wed, Aug 15 2007 8:25 am
Subject: Re: http://www.google.net
It looks like it redirects differently depending on one's preferences
if logged in to one's Google account or, GeoLocation if not logged in.

Maybe it is you MrGamma that Google can't find.  :-()

Seriously though, it is a valid domain registration so that should
solve some of your concerns.

Why it doesn't redirect for you though is a bit of a puzzle.

Craig

On Aug 15, 8:27 pm, Phil Payne wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2009 Google